Return to U.S. 40U.S._Highway_40.html
Continue westJct_City_to_Russell.html
Continue eastKansas_City.html

Victory Junction, at the intersection of Parallel Parkway and North 139th Street, lost much of its importance in the late 1930s when U.S. Highway 40 was moved one mile south to State St. The Victory Junction Restaurant closed in 2004.

Indian Village” at the junction of U.S. Highways 24 & 40, north of Lawrence, offered motorists food, dance, and gasoline. The gas attendants, often students from Haskell Indian Nations University, wore native dress. Some of the  structures still stand today at “TeePee Junction.”

Fort Riley was established in 1853 at the confluence of the Smoky Hill and Republican Rivers. It was located “in the wilderness” but was still accessible to the Santa Fe and Oregon-California Trails. The statue, “Duty,” dedicated in 2003, stands in front of the U.S. Cavalry Museum at Fort Riley. The museum is housed in an 1855 building that originally served as the post hospital.

The Bartell House in Junction City opened in 1880 with 66 rooms. The dining room was known for its unique cuisine, including a “Buffalo Tongue Dinner.” It housed the post office from 1888 to 1917. It closed in 1979. After an uncertain future it was saved by the Geary County Historical Society. In Heritage Park is the Memorial Arch, a memorial to those who served in the Civil War. It was conceived by war veterans and known as the Grand Army of the Republic, and was dedicated in 1898.